Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
> Home > Investor Relations > Board of Directors and Officers
Board of Directors and Officers

Board of Directors

Alain Benedetti

Mr. Benedetti is a Corporate Director.  He was Chair of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants.  From 1998 to his retirement in June 2004, he was Vice Chair and Canadian Area Managing Partner of Ernst & Young LLP.  Mr. Benedetti is currently a director of Dorel Industries Inc.

John M. Clark


Mr. Clark is a Director and the President of Investments & Technical Management Corp. since 1999.  He was Chief Financial Officer and a director of Polaris Geothermal Inc. from June 2004 to October 2009.  He was President and/or Executive Chairman of Laurasia Resources Limited, a publicly traded oil and gas exploration and development company, from 1988 to 1998. In relation to Mr. Clark's Presidency at Investment & Technical Management Corp. he is also currently a director of Aizan Technologies Inc., Clearpoint Resorts Limited, Colio Estate Wines Inc., Eglinton Investments B.V., Hutton Investments B.V., Investments & Technical Management Corp., Maree Investment Inc., Wine Insights Pty Ltd., Zephyr Minerals Ltd. and is Chair of the Compensation Committee of Vista Gold Corp.

James F. Dinning

Director and Chair of the Board
Mr. Dinning is a Corporate Director and was appointed Chair of the Board of the Company on May 6, 2014.  He serves as Board Chair of Western Investment Company and as a director of various other private companies, foundations and trusts. He was chair of Western Financial Group Inc. from 2005 to 2017 when the company was acquired by Wawanesa. He is the past chair of Liquor Stores North America Ltd and Export Development Canada and a former director of Parkland Fuel Corp, Finning International Inc and Shaw Communications Inc. From 1997 to 2004 Mr. Dinning was a senior executive of TransAlta Corporation.
Mr. Dinning held several key positions during his 11 years as a member of the Legislative Assembly in Alberta, including Provincial Treasurer from 1992 to 1997. He is a Member of the Order of Canada and a Fellow of the Institute of Corporate Directors. He is Chancellor Emeritus of the University of Calgary following his tenure as Chancellor from 2010 to 2014.  

John A. Hanna 

Mr. Hanna is a Corporate Director.  Mr. Hanna was Chief Executive Officer of Rexel Canada Electrical Inc. from 2003 until 2005 and Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer from 1992 to 2003.  Prior to 1992, he had been Chief Financial Officer of Hydro-Quebec and Via Rail Canada Inc.  Mr. Hanna is currently Chair of the Audit Committee of Global Affairs Canada.

Brian R. Hedges

Director and Chief Executive Officer
Mr. Hedges is a Chartered Accountant and a Chartered Professional Accountant. Mr. Hedges' business career encompasses the positions of Chief Financial Officer, President and Chief Executive Officer of Gandalf Technologies, as well as Chief Financial Officer of Teleglobe Inc. Both companies were TSX listed and involved in the Canadian international telecommunications industry.
During his earlier years at Russel Metals, Mr. Hedges oversaw the divestitures of non-metals operations and the restructuring from a holding company (known as Federal Industries Ltd.) to a metal distribution operating company.
From 1994 to 2008, Mr. Hedges was Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Russel Metals. From February 2008 to May 2009, Mr. Hedges was the Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of the Company. On May 12, 2009, Mr. Hedges was promoted to President and Chief Executive Officer of the Company.
Barbara S. Jeremiah

Ms. Jeremiah is a Corporate Director. Prior to her retirement in 2009, she served as Executive Vice President of Alcoa, Inc. a leading aluminum producer, from 2002 until 2008, when she also assumed the position of Chairman's Counsel. Ms. Jeremiah served on the Board of Directors of Boart Longyear Limited from 2011 until March 2015, EQT Corporation from 2003 to 2012 and First Niagara Financial Group, Inc. from 2010 to 2013. Ms. Jeremiah is currently a director of Allegheny Technologies Incorporated, Aggreko plc and The Weir Group plc. 

Alice D.  Laberge

Ms. Laberge is a Corporate Director.  She was President and Chief Executive Officer of Fincentric Corporation (a global provider of software solutions to financial institutions) from December 2003 to July 2005.  Prior to this appointment she was Chief Financial Officer of Fincentric.  Prior to joining Fincentric in October, 2000, Ms. Laberge was with MacMillan Bloedel for over 18 years in a variety of financial positions including Senior Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer. Ms. Laberge is currently a director of the Royal Bank of Canada, Nutrien Ltd. and Canadian Public Accountability Board.

Lise Lachapelle

Mrs. Lachapelle is a Corporate Director and a consultant in corporate strategy. She was the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Forest Products Association of Canada and a consultant in corporate strategy from September 1994 to 2001. Prior to September 1994, she was President of Strategico Inc., a consulting firm specializing in public policies, for one year and a consultant with Strategico Inc. for three years.  Mrs. Lachapelle is currently a director of TMX Group Limited. 

William M. O'Reilly

Mr. O'Reilly is a Corporate Director. Mr. O'Reilly was the Managing Partner and a member of the Management Committee of Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP, the principal legal advisor to the Company from 1997 until his retirement from those positions on May 31, 2010. He was a partner of that firm from 1976 until his retirement on December 31, 2011, except for the period from August 1993 to January 1996 when he served as an executive officer of Russel Metals. Mr. O'Reilly was the Secretary of Russel Metals from May 1994 to May 2009 when he was first elected as a director of the Company. 

​Annie Thabet


Mrs. Thabet, a Partner at Celtis Capital and a Corporate Director, is a chartered professional accountant with more than 35 years of business experience namely in venture capital and private equity investments, mergers, acquisitions and financing transactions, and the development of industrial projects with international partners.  She is also currently a director of The Jean Coutu Group Inc., Transcontinental Inc. and Manac Inc. Ms. Thabet is also Chair of the board of directors of the Institute of Corporate Directors – Québec, Governor of the Sherbrooke University Business Research Foundation and Governor of Reseau Capital.


John R. Tulloch


Mr. Tulloch is a Corporate Director. Mr. Tulloch was Executive Vice President of SSAB AB and President of their North American Division from 2007 until his retirement in 2008. From 2004 until the takeover of IPSCO Inc. by SSAB in 2007 he was Executive Vice President, Steel and Chief Commercial Officer of IPSCO.  Prior to that he held various senior executive positions at IPSCO, including Vice President and General Manager of the Tubular Division.  He is a past Director of various steel and energy industry associations, including the American Iron and Steel Institute, the Metal Service Center Institute, the Steel Manufacturers Association and the Interstate Natural Gas Association of America Foundation.​ Mr. Tulloch is currently a director of SSAB AB.


James F. Dinning
Director and
Chair of the Board
Brian R. Hedges
Director and Chief Executive Officer​
 John G. Reid 
President and Chief Operating Officer
Marion E. Britton
Executive Vice President,
Chief Financial Officer
and Secretary
Lesley M.S. Coleman
Vice President, Controller and Assistant Secretary

Sherri L. Mooser
Assistant Secretary
This is the English text. If you see this the code works, hurray!